Christmas Confessions Day 4: “Worried and bothered about so many things”

picmonkey_image

I’m just gonna throw this out there and make an assumption that I’m not the only one who is “worried and bothered about so many things” today (Luke 10:41b).

There’s the basic workload – work, cook, wash clothes, parent…

Then there’s another layer of responsibilities – Christmas shopping, mailing packages, deep-cleaning the house, baking…

And on top of that is extra socializing – Christmas programs, get-togethers, parties…

By the end of the day yesterday, I’d nearly forgotten about God.

All that mattered was a bunch of clutter and a persistent odor in the bedroom carpet. As I rug-doctored, heaving furniture to and fro, my thoughts centered around how very much work children are, how small our house feels with seven people in it, and how appalling all our “stuff” is.

Things like “I’m never going to have time to write again!,” “Who has been training these kids anyway?,” “I can understand the benefits of having only one child,” and “If our house burned down I wouldn’t have to sort through all this mess” danced through my head. You know, visions of sugarplums…

When an obnoxious crate-style metal shelving unit broke for the umpteenth time, the lottery ticket line I inadvertantly stood in to rent the rug doctor came to mind… Hmmm, if I won the lottery, I could buy some real shelves. That’s every lotto player’s dream, right?

And then, after I ditched the crates, dumped the dirty rug-doctor water, cleaned the toilet, started another load of laundry, tidied the kitchen, and tiptoed past my sleeping husband to get ready for bed, I saw a facebook message from a sweet lady asking if I could have lunch with her tomorrow.

I want to, but… I… have… so… much… to… DO!

And then the God that I’d nearly forgotten showed me who I was.

“Martha, Martha, you are worried and bothered about so many things; but only one thing is necessary…” (Luke 10:41-42)

His Word…

Time at His feet…

Investments in relationships, in matters of the soul…

My confession today is that all my fleshly heart cares about is my own agenda:

  • I want my house clean.
  • I want my own time.
  • I don’t want my kids to pester me.
  • I want to finish my to do list!

My sinful nature doesn’t want to sacrifice.

My worried and bothered heart doesn’t have time to sit and listen to Jesus!

As if my agenda is more important than His.

As if He doesn’t know what it’s like to sacrifice and obey the will of the Father.

I need Him to open my eyes, my ears, my heart.

I need Him to “make me lie down in green pastures,”Β  to sit at His feet, to do the one thing that is necessary.

Lord Jesus, thank you for stepping down from Heaven and pursuing our souls. Help us today as our schedules and responsibilities overwhelm us; help us yield to Your Holy Spirit instead of our selfish, sinful hearts. Enable us to see what really matters and what doesn’t. Please give us grace to do the mundane for your glory.

*I know many of us are in the same boat today! And some of you are facing the kind of battles that make cluttered houses and smelly carpets look like a walk in the park. How can I pray for you today?

Tagged: , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Christmas Confessions Day 4: “Worried and bothered about so many things”

  1. Andrea December 17, 2013 at 12:05 pm Reply

    Oh yes, I am in the same boat…and so weary of it too. πŸ™‚ In fact, our extended family is making plans for our Christmas gathering. I just finished telling them the ideal for me would be to keep with all the food traditions unless they start causing us stress… Seriously, I think I would be fine with PB sandwiches than spending this Christmas season stressed and too busy in the kitchen to remember that “His law is love and His Gospel is Grace” Thank you for this good reminder my friend and being so open πŸ™‚

    • Jennifer Ebenhack December 17, 2013 at 12:22 pm Reply

      Amen! Thanks, Andrea. I wanna come to your Christmas gathering… even if it’s just PB&J! Love and miss you. Praying you have a blessed, Christ-focused Christmas.

  2. Beth Werner Lee December 17, 2013 at 3:05 pm Reply

    Jennifer, there’s just as much stress with an only child. It’s just different, and God is still the answer. But please stop yourself from that line of lie/envy and chose to thank God for your kids instead. I waited 11 years for God to answer my prayer for a child, and apparently one is all (although I have an ill father in our house too). So, I thank God with you for all of our kids! And I’m going to pray for him to gift you with new shelves!! Merry Christmas!

    • Jennifer Ebenhack December 17, 2013 at 9:38 pm Reply

      Thank you, Beth! I know you’re right… I remember a few rare occasions when I was in charge of only one of my children for a few days, and I was amazed at how much work it was to have only one!! Yes, I thank God for my five gifts. πŸ™‚ And I thank you for your encouragement and your prayers!

    • Jennifer Ebenhack December 17, 2013 at 9:38 pm Reply

      Thank you, Beth! I know you’re right… I remember a few rare occasions when I was in charge of only one of my children for a few days, and I was amazed at how much work it was to have only one!! Yes, I thank God for my five gifts. πŸ™‚ And I thank you for your encouragement and your prayers!

  3. adrianne hurtig December 17, 2013 at 11:42 pm Reply

    I enjoyed this so much. I’m a mother of 8. I know a little something-something about stress! And Holiday Stress!! Add five more heads to your story and it could’ve been mine! Women are stretched to the limit! Husbands DO manage to sleep soundly, don’t they?! lol. Sometimes when I’d find myself grumbling, complaining about the constant messes, the shabby (I thought!) furnishings, the being just so busy being busy and never doing anything fun….I would remember to be thankful for my dirty dishes – we’re eating. Thankful I had a house to clean – so many don’t. Even thankful for that lump of a husband sleeping soundly in his bark-a-lounger, exhausted from working, when so many aren’t! I used to feel that I was always down. Couldn’t keep up with the demands. I had a dear friend tell me once that sometimes we have to be down, to make sure we’re looking UP! God may not clean the messes, mail the packages, or clean the carpet, but He can soothe our soul and put gladness in our hearts to make the jobs before us easier to handle, can’t HE?

Leave a Reply

